AHL All-Star Classic Roster Announced

For the past 5 seasons, the NHL and AHL have started creative events. From the Winter Classic to the All-Star Draft to the AHL Outdoor Classic,

Nov 29, 2013; Dallas, TX, USA; Chicago Blackhawks center Brandon Pirri (37) chases the puck during the first period against the Dallas Stars at the American Airlines Center. Mandatory Credit: Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

Chicago Blackhawks rookie Brandon Pirri will be in the AHL All-Star Classic.


these events increased each of the respective leagues’ revenues and have become traditions. The 2014 edition of the AHL All-Star Classic will be quite different than previous years’ games, as a recently-named team of AHL All-Stars will face off against Swedish Hockey League (SHL)’s Farjestads BK in St. John’s, Newfoundland. Instead of wtatering down the best of the American Hockey League’s talent into two teams, they created one stronger team in hopes of having a more entertaining game. The team’s roster was announced January 9 and here is a list of the players:


Brett Connolly, Syracuse Crunch

Brian Gibbons, W-B/Scranton Penguins

Mike Hoffman, Binghampton Senators

Jason Jaffray, St. John’s IceCaps

Brandon Pirri, Rockford IceHogs

Colton Sceviour, Texas Stars

Colton Sissons, Milwaukee Admirals

Ryan Spooner, Providence Bruins

Ben Street, Abbotsford Heat

Ryan Strome, Bridgeport Sound Tigers

Linden Vey, Manchester Monarchs


Chad Billins, Abbotsford Heat

T.J. Brennan, Toronto Marlies

Cody Goloubef, Springfield Falcons

Alexey Marchenko, Grand Rapids Griffins

Brayden McNabb, Rochester Americans

Frederic St-Denis, Springfield Falcons


Jake Allen, Peoria Rivermen

Martin Jones, Manchester Monarchs


The team is headlined by young guns Ryan Strome and Brett Connolly, 5th and 6th overall picks by the New York Islanders and Tampa Bay Lightning respectively. Colton Sceviour leads the AHL in goals while defenceman T.J. Brennan leads all defensemen in points. Goaltenders Jake Allen and Martin Jones have not only played spectacular in the AHL this season, but also in previous stints in the NHL. Forward Jason Jaffray will be the captain. The team will take on a Farjestads team that include the likes of Norwegian D-man Ole-Kristian Tollefson, former Toronto Maple Leaf Rickard Wallin, and Hobey Baker Award winner Jack Connolly.

The 2014 AHL All-Star Classic will take place between February 11-12 and will feature the AHL Skills Competition, AHL All-Star Game, and AHL Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony.


Tags: Ahl AHL All-star Classic Brett Connolly Farjestads NHL Peoria Rivermen Ryan Strome T.j. Brennan Toronto Marlies

comments powered by Disqus