Mar 25, 2013; Ottawa, ON, CAN; A Ottawa Senators fan cheers for his team during the third period against the New Jersey Devils at Scotiabank Place. The Senators defeated the Devils 3-2 in a shootout. Mandatory Credit: Marc DesRosiers-USA TODAY Sports

Hockey Fights: A Player's Perspective: Darren Kramer


And we’re back! Hockey Fights has taken a little hiatus but we are back in full force. In case you missed the first 10 installments here is a list:

Part 1: Chris Thorburn: http://toomanymenonthesite.com/2013/10/01/hockey-fights-players-perspective-chris-thorburn/

Part 2: Eric Selleck: http://toomanymenonthesite.com/2013/10/03/hockey-fights-players-perspective-eric-selleck/

Part 3: Jared Boll: http://toomanymenonthesite.com/2013/10/07/hockey-fights-players-perspective-jared-boll/

Part 4: Steven Oleksy: http://toomanymenonthesite.com/2013/10/08/hockey-fights-players-perspective-steve-oleksy/

Part 5: Cullen Eddy: http://toomanymenonthesite.com/2013/10/09/hockey-fights-players-pespective-cullen-eddy/

Part 6: Mark Louis: http://toomanymenonthesite.com/2013/10/10/hockey-fights-players-perspective-mark-louis/

Part 7: Triston Grant: http://toomanymenonthesite.com/2013/10/11/hockey-fights-players-perspective-triston-grant/

Part 8: Mark Borowiecki: http://toomanymenonthesite.com/2013/10/15/hockey-fights-players-perspective-mark-borowiecki/

Part 9: Brennan Evans: http://toomanymenonthesite.com/2013/10/16/hockey-fights-players-perspective-brennan-evans/

Part 10: Jody Shelley: http://toomanymenonthesite.com/2013/10/17/hockey-fights-players-perspective-jody-shelley/

In this installment I talk to Darren Kramer of the Binghamton Senators. He was drafted in 2011 to the Ottawa Senators in the 6th round. He is ironically from a place called Peace River in Alberta, Canada. In his 2 seasons in the WHL he was in 72 fights. Last season was his first with the Binghamton Senators and he was second on the team for fights with 11.

Here is what Darren had to say:

What is the purpose of fighting in hockey?

“Its just part of the game… it takes away players taking liberties on more skilled guys.  Helps keep the game clean by making players more accountable for their actions on the ice.”

If fighting was taken out of hockey how would that change the game?

“It would change it dramatically.  There would be a lot more stick work but at the same time there would be more dirty plays because players wouldn’t be worried about being held accountable for their actions. Overall I think it would lead to more injuries.”

Why is most of the negative attention focused on fighting rather than hitting?

“Probably mostly because hitting takes place during play and fighting is something that happens during stoppage time… Fights right off a faceoff seem to be becoming more limited… its mainly frowned upon though because of all the media attention it receives.”

What is your favorite fight in hockey history?

“Ahhh that’s a tough one…. I would have to say any of Bob Probert’s fights from back in the day because they were so intense and because they weren’t during play and they were to protect his teammates.”

What fight in your career are you most proud of? Why?

“I would say pretty much all of my fights because they are for the right reasons… I try not to fight for the wrong reason at the wrong time of the game. I do it to help my teammates, anytime I get rid of the gloves its for the right reason.”

*Note* I want to thank Darren for answering my questions and Joe Battaglini for setting up the interview.

Tags: Binghamton Senators Darren Kramer Hockey Fights Ottawa Senators