Sochi 2014 Hockey : Team Finland

With the 2014 Olympics coming up Finland has released their roster. After taking a look at the roster it has become clear that Finland has one of , if not the best goaltending in the upcoming Olympics. That alone should make Finland a medal contender.

Finland has the most goaltending talent and depth of any Olympic team, which is a great situation for a squad that lacks star power on the blue line. At forward, Finland has plenty of skill to compete with the world’s best. The good news for this squad is that it won’t need to score many goals if the goaltending performs to expectations.(

Finland has competed in the Winter Olympic 15 times. Their medal count is 2 silver and 3 bronze. This year I’d look for them to make a run at a 4th bronze.

Finland has won medals in five of the last seven Olympic Games in men’s hockey after failing to reach the podium in their first eight appearances in the tournament. The country has never won gold at the Olympics, taking their second ever silver in Torino in 2006 and winning bronze in Vancouver in 2010. (

While the Finland team has more than enough talent between the pipes, they do fall short on toughness. My question is will they have what it takes to hold up in this long tournament?

The concern for Finland is a lack of toughness, but this group of players has a wealth of medal-winning experience and should be able to overcome most challenges thrown at them. (

Here’s a look at the projected roster: VIA

Depth Chart

Left Wing
Right Wing
Valtteri Filppula Saku Koivu Teemu Selanne
Lori Korpikoski Mikko Koivu Mikael Granlund
Jussi Jokinen Olli Jokinen Tuomo Ruutu
Sean Bergenheim Jori Lehtera Antti Miettinen
Joni Pitkanen Sami Salo Pekka Rinne
Kimmo Timonen Toni Lydman Tuukka Rask
Sami Lepisto Sami Vatanen Miikka Kiprusoff


Niklas Hagman (L), Ossi Vaananen (D)

Just Missed

Antti Niemi (G), Ville Peltonen (C), Niko Kapanen (C), Ville Leino (L), Niklas Backstrom (G)

Tags: 2014 Sochi Olympics Antti Miettinen Antti Niemi Finland Joni Pitkanen Jori Lehtera Jussi Jokinen Kimmo Timonen Lori Korpikoski Mikael Granlund Mikko Koivu Niklas Backstrom Niko Kapanen Olli Jokinen Pekka Rinne Saku Koivu Sami Lepisto Sami Salo Sami Vatanen Miikka Kiprusoff Sean Bergenheim Teemu Selanne Toni Lydman Tuomo Ruutu Tuukka Rask Valtteri Filppula Ville Leino

comments powered by Disqus