Apr 24, 2013; Tampa, FL, USA; Tampa Bay Lightning right wing Martin St. Louis (26) brings the puck into the offensive zone during the third period at Tampa Bay Times Forum. Tampa Bay defeated Toronto 5-2. Mandatory Credit: Douglas Jones-USA TODAY Sports

2013 Ted Lindsay Nominees Announced

The finalists for the 2013 Ted Lindsay award were announced today by the NHLPA. The Ted Lindsay Award is presented to the most outstanding player voted by the NHLPA. For the 2011-2012 season the winner was Evgeni Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins. This year’s finalists are Sidney Crosby, Alex Ovechkin and Martin St. Louis.

Despite a jaw injury that had him out for a good chunk of the season, Crosby still managed to tie for third in the league in scoring with 56 points. He was the leader until the last week of the regular season. He had 15 goals and a career best plus/minus rating of +26. He has one this award once before in 2007.

Ovechkin was the leader in goals this year with 32 and is tied with Crosby in points. Ovechkin has won this award three times and is one of only five players in history to do so.

St. Louis was the come from behind winner of the Art Ross Trophy with 60 points this season. The 37-year-old is the oldest person in history to win the award. This isn’t the first time he has won the Art Ross Trophy, he did it in 2004 as well. In that season he also won the Ted Lindsay.

Personally I would like to see St. Louis win as I am a little sick of Crosby and Ovechkin getting all of the attention. Who do you think will win?

Who will win the 2013 Ted Lindsay Award?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Tags: Alex Ovechkin Martin St. Louis Pittsburgh Penguins Sidney Crosby Tampa Bay Lightning Ted Lindsay Award Washington Capitals

comments powered by Disqus