March 26, 2013; Pittsburgh, PA, USA; Pittsburgh Penguins defenseman Kris Letang (58) on the ice against the Montreal Canadiens during the first period at the CONSOL Energy Center. The Pittsburgh Penguins won 1-0. Mandatory Credit: Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

2013 Norris Trophy Nominees Announced

The finalists for the James Norris Memorial trophy were announced today by the NHL. For those of you who don’t know the Norris Trophy is awarded to the defenseman who shows the greatest all-around ability. For the 2011-2012 season Erik Karlsson of the Ottawa Senators won this award. This year’s finalists are Kris Letang of the Pittsburgh Penguins, P.K. Subban of the Montreal Canadiens and Ryan Suter of the Minnesota Wild.

Letang missed 13 games this season due to injury but still managed to tie with Subban for the scoring lead among defensemen with 38 points. He is number 1 among defensmen and 12th in the league for assists with 33. He is 7th among defensmen in ice-time, playing on both the power play and the penalty kill and 13 of his 38 points were on the power play.

Subban as mentioned before also finished the season with 38 points however 26 of those points were on the power play and 7 of those power play points were goals. Subban also finished the season with an impressive plus/minus  rating of +12.

Suter lead the league in ice time this season. With that ice time he accumulated 32 points that made him 2nd in assists and 3rd in scoring among defensmen. He is also number 1 on the Wild in assists and blocked shots. Overall he definitely proved he was worth the huge amount he was signed for as a free agent.

All three candidates definitely fit the bill for the Norris Trophy, but which one do you think will take it home?

Who will win the 2013 Norris Trophy?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...


Tags: Erik Karlsson Kris Letang Minnesota Wild Montreal Canadiens NHL Awards Norris Trophy Ottawa Senators Pittsburgh Penguins PK Subban Ryan Suter

comments powered by Disqus