Canadian hockey fans wave a flag and display a banner. Mandatory Credit: Tom Szczerbowski-USA TODAY Sports

Hockey Canada Announces 2013 WJC Selection Camp Roster

On Monday Hockey Canada announced its 37 player roster of goalies, forwards and defenseman that will be invited to their 2013 National Junior Team selection camp that will be held December 11-13 at the Markin MacPhail Centre at Canada Olympic Park in Calgary, Alberta.

The camp roster is made up of 4 goalies, 12 defenseman and 21 forwards. Only 23 of those 47 players will make the cut, which is one extra than the usual 22 man roster that Team Canada is accustomed to as they will be bringing a third/alternate goalie to this years tournament.

Six of the players invited to this years camp were on last years bronze medal winning team and those returning players are Dougie Hamilton, Scott Harrington, Mark Strome, Boone Jenner, Jonathan Huberdeau and Mark Scheifele. I should also note that last years NHL rookie of the year, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (who has never represented Team Canada in the WJC) was invited to the camp as well.

Some notable names left off the list are Defensemen Ryan Murray (who is currently injured), Stuart Percy and Cody Ceci. On the forward side its interesting to see Colin Smith and Seth Griffith not get invites.

Anyways, the selection camp roster is as follows:


Jordan Binnington – OHL Owen Sound Attack (St. Louis Blues)

Laurent Brossoit – WHL Edmonton Oil Kings (Calgary Flames)

Jake Paterson – OHL Saginaw Spirit (Detroit Red Wings)

Malcolm Subban – OHL Belleville Bulls (Boston Bruins)



Frank Corrado – OHL Sudbury Wolves  (Vancouver Canucks)

Dougie Hamilton – OHL Niagara IceDogs (Boston Bruins)

Scott Harrington – OHL London Knights (Pittsburgh Penguins)

Ryan Murphy – OHL Kitchener Rangers (Carolina Hurricanes)

Xavier Ouellet – QMJHL Blainville-Boisbriand Armada (Detroit Red Wings)

Griffin Reinhart – WHL Edmonton Oil Kings (New York Islanders)

Morgan Rielly – WHL Moose Jaw Warriors (Toronto Maple Leafs)

Ryan Sproule – OHL Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (Detroit Red Wings)

Tyler Wotherspoon – WHL Portland Winterhawks (Calgary Flames)

Matthew Dumba – WHL Red Deer Rebels (Minnesota Wild)

Adam Pelech – AHL Worcester Shark (New York Islanders)

Derrick Pouliot – WHL Portland Winterhawks (Pittsburgh Penguins)



Phillip Danault – QMJHL Victoriaville Tigres (Chicago Blackhawks)

Daniel Catenacci – OHL Owen Sound Attack  (Buffalo Sabres)

Boone Jenner – OHL Oshawa Generals  (Columbus Blue Jackets)

Ryan Nugent-Hopkins – AHL Oklahoma City Barons (Edmonton Oilers)

Ryan Strome – OHL Niagara IceDogs  (New York Islanders)

Charles Hudon – QMJHL Chicoutimi Sagueneens (Montreal Canadiens)

Jonathan Huberdeau – QMJHL Saint John Sea Dogs (Florida Panthers)

Nathan MacKinnon – QMJHL Halifax Mooseheads (2013 NHL Entry Draft eligible)

Mark McNeill – WHL Prince Albert Raiders (Chicago Blackhawks)

Sean Monahan – OHL Ottawa 67’s OHL (2013 NHL Entry Draft eligible)

Ty Rattie – WHL Portland Winterhawks (St. Louis Blues)

Brett Ritchie – OHL Niagara IceDogs (Dallas Stars)

Mark Scheifele – OHL Barrie Colts (Winnipeg Jets)

Tom Wilson – OHL Plymouth Whalers  (Washington Capitals)

Anthony Camara – OHL Barrie Colts (Boston Bruins)

Hunter Shinkaruk – WHL Medicine Hat Tigers (2013 NHL Entry Draft eligible)

Jonathan Drouin – QMJHL Halifax Mooseheads, (2013 NHL Entry Draft eligible)

Colton Sissons – WHL Kelowna Rockets (Nashville Predators)

Francis Beauvillier – QMJHL Rimouski Oceanic (Florida Panthers)

J.C. Lipon – WHL Kamloops Blazers, (Unsigned and yet to be drafted)

Tyler Graovac – OHL Ottawa 67’s  (Minnesota Wild)


The Canadian team will be named December 13th and then will immediately take off for a “pre-competition camp” in Finland just two days later. The head coach for this years squad is Steve Spott, who was an assistant coach for Team Canada in 2010 when they won the silver.

On a side note, not a single Canadian currently playing college hockey in the NCAA was selected among the 47 skaters. Not unusual for Team Canada but I find it interesting nonetheless.

As previously reported the WJC will start on December 26th and the gold medal game will be played on January 5th, with Ufa, Russia being this years host city.

Tags: 2013 WJC Hockey Canada Team Canada

comments powered by Disqus